Summer Meeting 2023

Research School of Physics, The Australian National University
Canberra, Australia Dec 3-8, 2023

A meeting showcasing the work of Australia and New Zealand’s physics and photonics community

About the meeting

The 2023 Australia and New Zealand Conference on Optics and Photonics (ANZCOP) and Australian Institute of Physics (AIP) Summer Meeting will be held on the 3rd – 8th of December 2023 at the Australian National University in Canberra, Australia. It is an inexpensive meeting targeted at Australia and New Zealand-based professional scientists, academics, post-doctoral researchers and PhD students.

The Australian and New Zealand Optical Society (ANZOS) is a non-profit organisation for the advancement of optics in Australia & New Zealand. The society was formed in 1983 for this purpose. The Society embraces anyone contributing to or interested in optics in the widest sense.

The Australian Institute of Physics is an organisation dedicated to promoting the role of Physics in research, education, industry and the community. Since it was formed in 1963, evolving from the Australian Branch of the IOP, the AIP has served the needs and interests of professional physicists, and those with an interest in physics. 


  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Materials Physics
  • Quantum Science and Technology
  • Atomic and Molecular Physics
  • Nuclear and Particle Physics
  • Nanophotonics and Nanoplasmonics
  • Nonlinear photonics
  • Quantum optics
  • Spectroscopy and Imaging
  • Biophotonics and Optical Sensors
  • THz and Microwave Photonics
  • Education Physics
  • Astrophysics
  • Theoretical Physics
  • Biophysics
  • Gravitational waves
  • Laser Physics and Active Photonics
  • Fiber Optics and Communications
  • Optoacoustics and Optomechanics
  • Photonic Integrated Circuits
  • Astronomy Optics and Instrumentation
  • Novel photonics materials and Fabrication

General Chairs

Prof. Dragomir Neshev

Chair: The Australian and New Zealand Conference on Optics and Photonics
Professor and Director of the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Transformative Meta-Optical Systems
Research School of Physics
Australian National University

Prof. Jodie Bradby

Chair: AIP Summer Meeting
Professor and Head of Department
Department of Materials Physics
Research School of Physics,
Australian National University

Honorary Secretary

Shankar Dutt


Laura Walmsley

Acknowledgement of Country

The Summer Meetings acknowledge the traditional owners of Country throughout Australia. We pay our respects to Elders past and present and celebrate the diversity of First Nations peoples and their ongoing cultures and connections to the lands and waters of Australia.

The Australian National University acknowledges, celebrates and pays our respects to the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people of the Canberra region and to all First Nations Australians on whose traditional lands we meet and work, and whose cultures are among the oldest continuing cultures in human history.